Life In General

David Aragon
5 min readApr 29, 2021

I am an officer in the United States military but it didn’t start out to be that way. My original plan was much simpler and I had one simple objective… get out! That’s right, I just wanted to leave my hometown (Sitka, Alaska) and do something. I said what the Hell, what else am I going to do? I am not a millionaire (yet) and I don’t see that happening anytime soon, so I guess I’ll join the United States Coast Guard!

Life is funny and you know what… if it’s not, you should make it funny. Years ago, I told a girl that I knew “things change, people change.” Since then I must have heard that exact statement a thousand times. I like to think that I thought of it first and people in the movie industry stole it from me instead of the other way around.

You never know what is going to happen or where you’ll be later in life. I didn’t enlist in the military to become an officer, it just so happened that I enjoyed what I was doing and then got interested in becoming an officer. Where you go in life depends a lot on luck as well as your drive and determination.

At the time of this writing, the richest person in the world is Bill Gates; I believe that when opportunity came knocking on his door, he answered it, grabbed it by the throat and never let go. From what I understand, he quit Harvard to work in his chosen field and it just so happens that when his (opportunity) came, he took it. Now his company is a huge software…

--

--

David Aragon
0 Followers

Filmmaker, storyteller, and retired military officer. From enlisting in the U.S. Coast Guard to working on block buster movies like the Suicide Squad 2.